I Visited ‘The Cabin In The Woods’ and Survived!

I wanted to watch this film way before it came out because I remember searching IMDb for a good movie and I stumbled across it, but the description didn’t leave much to the imagination, which is what made me want to watch it even more, it simply said…

“Five friends go to a remote cabin in the woods. Bad things happen.” Description

(Source: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1259521/)

Of course the description has changed since then. This film intrigued me because of the basic description, making me wonder “Why did they go to this cabin?” and “What is this strange goings on?”

So a year later and I’ve finally managed to see the film.

Plot

The plot is pretty simple as mentioned above, a group of friends go to a cabin in the woods and weird stuff happens.

Obviously I’ll expand on this a bit for you as I can answer some questions, they didn’t just stumble upon this cabin and say “oh let’s go in” it was a normal horror movie scenario where one of the friends, Curt (Chris Hemsworth), has a cousin who ‘owns’ this cabin, I am still debating if this cousin is real…, so they visit the cabin, but what they don’t know is they are being watched by a massive agency, I only assume it to be government based. This agency is using all the power they have to influence the decisions of the five friends, to give horrific outcomes for one major reason.

I won’t ruin to you what that reason is, as it make the film pretty ‘meh’ when watching as you know the ending, all I do have to say is you see some weird stuff in this film, like a unicorn and some, what I can only assume to be a robotic scorpion.

The Cabin in the Woods

Conclusion

Overall I think this film is very good and is worth the 7.1 IMDb rating it got. I would say it should have a higher rating but it was so dark to the point I had to turn up the brightness on my TV, which I do understand why. I also liked the idea of the film because it is unique to anything I have seen before, if anyone knows of any more films like this I would love to hear about them, please leave a comment on Twitter, Facebook, or on here with the name of the film and its IMDb page.

 

Final Message

Thank you for reading and happy blog post and reading also don’t forget to like the “What a review!” Facebook page and follow the Twitter page (links below).

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Whatareview

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Whatareview  (@Whatareview)

~~~

Thomas

Leave a Reply

