The One Book In History That Made Me Cry AKA : The Fault In Our Stars.

‘Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon her diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.’

So, this is the only book that I can think of that has ever made me cry, it’s called The Fault In Our Stars and it’s by John Green.

The book is about Hazel Lancaster, a 16 year old cancer patient. Her mum thinks she’s getting depressed so she carts her off to ‘Support Group’ where after a few weeks of going she meets a boy called Augustus Waters. Augustus and Hazel hit it off, getting on great, they’re both intelligent, witty and extremely sarcastic.

What sets this aside from most books that are about young cancer patients, Hazel doesn’t feel sorry for herself, she sees her cancer as ‘a side affect of dying.’ To directly quote Mr.Green, and Augustus sees it a similar way.

In my opinion, the best quote from the entire book is between Hazel and another cancer patient, Isaac, his cancer was to do with his eyes (I’m not entirely sure, it doesn’t say in the book) but he has surgery and he become blind, anyway, here’s the quote :

‘ “To be fair to Monica” I said, “what you did to her wasn’t very nice either.”
“What’s I did to her?” He asked, defensive.
“You know, going blind and everything.”
“But that’s not my fault.” Isaac said.
“I’m not saying it’s your fault. I’m saying it wasn’t very nice.” ‘

Another great quote is one that set me off crying,

Hazel is sat at home being ‘very teenagery’ as her mother thinks but Hazel doesn’t see it that way,

‘ “Honey,” my mom said. “What’s wrong?”
“I’m like. Like. Like a grenade, Mom. I’m a grenade and at some point I’m going to blow up and I would like to minimise the casualties okay?” ‘

I think one of my only criticism is that John Green uses the word ‘said’ A LOT, but otherwise I can’t really criticise and to be fair to the guy, he pretty much nailed the view point of a 16 year old girl considering he’s a 35 year old bloke.

I’ve had this book less than a month and it’s 313 pages of -in my opinion- pure genius. I’ve read it, and cried. Re-read it and cried, and re-read it and cried again. You think I would have learnt the first time!
I would say that this book appeals more to girls as its in the opinion of a girl, but, I know boys that have read it and they’ve loved it also.

But honestly, I love this book and I recommend it to anyone.

~~~

Hannah

20130419-212126.jpg

Leave a Reply

