The Wrestler

Okay so I know it has been a while since I last posted but that is because I have been wanting to post more about newer films, but being an unemployed eighteen year old it is really hard to get into the cinema. Instead I have decided to go back and re-watch some films I haven’t seen in a couple of years or in some cases “old films”.

The Wrestler is a brilliant and sad film, I have only seen it twice now but I would rate it as one of my top films. The plot of “The Wrestler” is about an old professional wrestler named Randy ‘The Ram’ Robinson (Mickey Rourke). The Ram has a heart-attack after one of his matches, leading him to realize he is too old to wrestle and should stop, it also makes him realize that he is alone, all by himself no one to care for, he tries to get back in contact with his daughter, Stephanie Robinson (Evan Rachel Wood). She agrees to let him back into her life but The Ram messes that up by missing their dinner date.

Stephanie is not the only person The Ram tries getting into his life, he also falls in love with a stripper named Cassidy (Marisa Tomei) but she doesn’t want anything serious to happen between them as she doesn’t want to date a “customer”.

Now I may not seem like the kind of person that would like this sort of film, but I actually do, I enjoy watching films like this that make you think “aww” and feel sorry for the characters even brought a little tear to my eye knowing that The Ram will forever be alone.

I suggest that film is a must watch for everyone and anyone, if you haven’t seen it go out, rent a copy, buy a copy, or watch it on Sky movies next time it is on as it is an amazing film and shall be watched by many for years to come, I know I’ll watch it again and again.

 

 

 

Thank you for reading and happy blog post and reading also don’t forget to like the “What a review!” Facebook page and follow the Twitter page (links below).

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Whatareview

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Whatareview  (@Whatareview)

 

Leave a Reply

