Xmen First Class

So yes I have finally watched Xmen First Class. I am glad I have now because it is a brilliant film!

It journeys through the love of loss of 2 of the main Xmen characters Professor Charles Francis Xavier from the age of 12 (Laurence Belcher) when he first meets the wonderful Mystique at the age of 10 (Morgan Lily) known then as Raven.

It also shows when Erik Lehnsherr at around the age of 12 (Bill Milner) learns that he has the power to control anything metal (so if you didn’t guess he is Magneto) the way that doctor Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon) manages to make him take control of his powers is by killing Eriks mum in front of him, allowing him to find his powers are controlled through anger.

After you see Erik Lehnsherr control his powers it jumps forward about 12 years showing  life for Professor Charles Francis Xavier (James McAvoy) and Erik Lehnsherr (Michael Fassbender). Showing the ups and downs of their relationship and also a couple of inside puns for example Professor Xavier says “I suppose I am a real professor, aren’t I? Next thing you know, I’ll be going bald.” (you should guess the inside joke…I hope). It also shows why and how Professor Xavier was put into a wheelchair.

 

Xmen First Class is basically the origins of about 4 characters, Professor Xavier (Professor X), Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto), Raven (Mystique [Jennifer Lawrence]), Hank McCoy (Beast [Nicholas Hoult]).

 

It is a compelling film and truly amazing film, I recommend that anyone who enjoys Xmen watches this film.

 

 

One thought on “Xmen First Class

  1. I enjoy X-Men! — and I agree that “First Class” was a great watch. Casting made me happy (James McAvoy has yet to disappoint me in anything I’ve seen him in, and I really liked their choice for Erik, too), and I was well satisfied with the story. I enjoyed the little touches throughout the film that nodded to the previous “X-Men” films, although it’s worth noting that the ending destroys an important point of continuity with the ending of “X-Men Origins: Wolverine”. Taken separately, though, the movie totally works.

Leave a Reply

